Countdown to Osheaga 2016

In 16 short days I’ll wake up in downtown Montreal, throw on a t-shirt and a pair of shorts, and walk north along the vibrant, buzzing streets towards Parc Jean-Drapeau to join 40,000 other people for the 2016 Osheaga musical festival.

2012-08-03_osheaga_festival_parc_jean-drapeau_montreal

Three days.

87 artists.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers.

That last point is basically the number one reason I’m going. Being my favourite band, I’ve seen RHCP once before (in Montreal), but they just put out a brand new album, and they’ll be joined by a slew of other amazing musical acts that made this trip an overwhelming “yes”. I booked my festival passes even before I had a chance to think about it.

I’ll be flying up there with my good buddy Greg to meet Donny, Steve, and many other Newfie friends and acquaintances. When it’s all said and done we’ll have been in Montreal for a week, had a few beers, heard some amazing music, and made some memories.

Montreal is an amazing city. I was lucky enough to live there for a month a few summer’s back. The weather, the people, the culture, the language, the food, the nightlife, the endless number of things to do. It may be my favourite place to travel, if not for their hockey team, the Montreal Canadiens. They’re terrible and I can’t stand them, but I digress. It’s a trip I’m really looking forward to, and over the next couple of weeks I’ll be listening to five or more tunes from each group that’s performing so I can make my must-see list for the festival. At this point that’s over six bands per day, or over 30 songs at least. Let’s hear some great new music! Should be a good time.

The countdown’s on!

Cheers.

Featured image: The 2015 Osheaga music festival in full swing, last summer. – Google (source)


{the hematite blog} is a very new blog by a very regular guy that wants to learn and write about all sorts of stuff. I’m a little rusty, and this blog is about my journey to shake some of that rust off, get better at stuff, learn, and try new things. Maybe we can all learn something along the way. Thanks for stopping by!

Follow {the hematite blog} on WordPress (by clicking the ‘follow’ button in the bottom right corner or subscribing by e-mail), and check us out on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr!

Share Your Thoughts

