Gone For a Trot

I was going to do a Foto Friday last week. When I missed my window for that post, I was going to do a Snapshot Saturday, then a Snapshot Sunday. When both those days passed me by I was going to do a Tuney Tuesday. I even had a song picked and the post written out in my head. But after a long day of yard work and soccer in the evening, the sun had set on Tuney Tuesday, too.

I’ve been fighting my natural procrastination by working on new exciting projects, making plans for long posts, scheduling research, and reading up on interesting things. But sometimes life gets in the way. Sometimes you just have to get out and take in the view. This post is literally just going to be a small photo dump of a hike I did on the East Coast Trail a couple of weeks ago with my friend Greg and his dog Kya. Our route took us from the Ocean Sciences Centre in Logy Bay, westward along the coast through Robin Hood Bay, eventually spitting us out in Quidi Vidi Village. It was a beautiful, cool day, and I may still be recovering from the burn I received after the sun made a rare appearance.

I hope you enjoy the photos!

13225200_10156874702075316_737268476_o
The Ocean Science Centre.
IMG_1061
The cliffs just beyond the Ocean Sciences Centre.

IMG_1060

13230819_10156874702795316_1871004632_o
Greg and Kya standing tall at Sugar Loaf Head.
IMG_1063
Cliffside descent to lunch. That’s Cape Spear in the distance.
IMG_1065
River mouth just past Robin Hood Bay. The red colouring is due to high iron content.

IMG_1069

IMG_1070
Not pictured: A feed of moose sausages and maple beans for lunch.
IMG_1074
It’s hard to make out, but it’s not actually cloudy. That’s fog, rising up from the Atlantic and heading inland to spoil a beautiful day.
IMG_1077
Amazing cliffs and a waterfall.
13230973_10156874703195316_53851318_o
A view of Quidi Vidi Village on the home stretch.

Whatever your week brings you, I hope you get out, get some fresh air, and enjoy the view. There’s nothing better.

Cheers.

Featured image: A lunch by the bay. – Newfoundland


{the hematite blog} is a very new blog by a very regular guy that wants to learn and write about all sorts of stuff. I’m a little rusty, and this blog is about my journey to shake some of that rust off, get better at stuff, learn, and try new things. Maybe we can all learn something along the way. Thanks for stopping by!

Follow {the hematite blog} on WordPress (by clicking the ‘follow’ button in the bottom right corner or subscribing by e-mail), and check us out on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr!

4 thoughts on “Gone For a Trot

Share Your Thoughts

