Tuney Tuesday – 26/01/16

This is a beautiful song.

I first heard “A Song To Sing When I’m Lonely” almost ten years ago and was instantly enamoured by the passion and intensity of both John Frusciante’s song writing and his delivery. After hearing his simplistic yet unbelievable guitar playing and haunting falsetto backing vocals in his time with RHCP, I couldn’t believe how much solo work he’d done. It was like finding buried treasure in your backyard. I immediately ate up every song he’d made. Some of it is undeniably dark (what was made during his struggle with heroin), and it’s not music everyone may love, but there’s something in his vast catalog that anyone could enjoy. Needless to say I’ve been hooked on everything he’s done for almost a decade.

His lyrics tell a somber yet hopefully story in this song. It’s a song to play when he’s lonely, after all. But the guitar progression sounds hopeful, content, and maybe optimistic. For me it’s a song that centres; that offers different perspectives for a wide variety of situations, and allows me an opportunity to reflect on life and everything in it. Every song means something to someone, and that’s what this week’s Tuney Tuesday pick is for me. I hope that each one of you has a song like this. It serves to enrich your life and give you goosebumps.

Wherever you are and whatever you’re doing, I hope you have a great week.

Cheers.

Featured image: The virtuoso – Google

 

Share Your Thoughts

