Tuney Tuesday – 08/12/15

Everyone is starting to feel it.

The Christmas shopping crunch.

“I have lots of time left,” you say to yourself. A few weeks. That’s like 350 hours away. That’s so many hours. I think I’ll take all of today’s hours to watch Netflix and eat pizza. Yeah, that leaves lots of hours to go Christmas shopping.

But, after resigning yourself to a day of leisure, the Christmas crunch lingers at the back of your mind. All of a sudden you’ll only have a few days left, and you won’t have a clue how to tackle it!

Might as well get ahead of it, while you can.

Something you probably don’t know about me is that I’ve been drawing, colouring, sketching, and painting for over 20 years. I wouldn’t call myself an artist, but I do enjoy it. I’ve come to incorporate my art into the act of gift giving. It’s more satisfying, both for me and for whoever I make a piece for. I love seeing some hard work and planning make a tangible impact on someone in the form of appreciation and a smile.

When I’m working there’s a process I follow. It goes a little like this:

  1. Decide to do a piece.
  2. Decide who I’ll give it to, if anyone at all.
  3. Come up with ideas (longest part).
  4. Gather supplies.
  5. Spend way too much time not doing it.
  6. Realize it’s been too long since I told myself I’d do it.
  7. Do it (starting / getting in the zone / doubt / completion).
  8. Profit (mostly besides accepting money in return for the piece).

Right now I’m between #6 and #7, but I’m also at the point where I can see the finished product in my mind, and all that’s left to do is execute.

A huge part of that for me is getting in the zone, which is a time when I hit a productive stretch where I know exactly what I’m doing, do minimal things wrong, and avoid basic things like eating or communicating until I’m almost done. While I’m in the zone, music is the only thing that exists besides the piece I’m working on. Here’s one tune that pushes me through the process:

It’s atmospheric, electronic, and very melody-driven. That’s exactly the kind of tunes I need to keep me in the zone, and keep me working. I love the whole process, especially the end, but this is my favourite part. It’s coming soon, and that’s exciting for me.

What’s not exciting is the fact that after all my artistic powers have been used, there is still Christmas shopping to do. I wish I had a ton more money so I could give the important people in my life the things they deserve. Ah, well, that comes with the season I suppose. Who wouldn’t want that for their friends and family?

The real treat to this time of year is seeing faces light up through your thoughts and company, besides your gift-giving.

That’s it for this week’s Tuney Tuesday. I hope that, wherever you are, and whatever you’re doing, you have some good tunes to accompany you through it!

Oh, and I’ll be sure to throw up a pic or two of my works once they’re done. (Now I have some extra motivation to get them finished!)

Cheers.

Featured image: Is this the Matrix? – Screenshot of Midnight City music video, Vimeo

 

Share Your Thoughts

