I’m a Little Rusty

It’s been almost two months since I started {the hematite blog}. I’ve learned a lot about the platform, how to blog (sort of), connected to Twitter, got lucky by attracting a couple of followers (yay!), and even started my own weekly segments (Tuney Tuesday and Foto Friday).

That’s great and all, but I haven’t done what I wanted to do when I started this blog in the first place: shake some of the rust off.

Now, what do I mean by shake rust off? What I mean is that I want to evaluate myself; the things I know and the stuff I do, so that I can identify things to get better at – and then actually get better at them. These things could be basic to advanced skills, hobbies, knowledge, or behaviours. This especially and specifically applies to things that I haven’t tried or even know about. The whole point is that there’s always room for improvement, time and space to grow, and more to learn than we can ever dream of. I hope that this experience allows me to broaden my perspective on life, learning, and living. I want to share my journey with anyone that will read along with the goal to inspire some of you to pick up the paint brushes again, lace up those skates, or even try something entirely new.

I have a rough idea of how this will play out. I plan on breaking these self-improvement posts up into three parts. The first part will serve as an announcement of the thing I want to get better at, why I suck at it, and why I want to get better at it. The second will be a progress report on how I’m faring with the project, and any pros and cons of my plan to shake that rust off. Finally, the third part will (hopefully) be about how I’ve conquered the thing and I’m a little less rusty overall. Of course it will never be that simple, but that’s the point! It’s meant to be a learning experience. I’m not going to be awesome at everything I try, but I’m going to give it one hell of a shot.

To start us off let’s pick an easy one: COOKING.

Yes, cooking. And yes, I bolded and caps-locked it for a reason. I’ll be the first to admit, much to my chagrin, that I am a horrible cook. Not because I am unable, but because I am profoundly lazy. I will also share with you my idea of a fine-cooked meal:

Why yes, I also like to live dangerously. The wine pairs well with the processed notes of microwaved pizza.
Why yes, I like to live dangerously. The wine pairs well with the processed notes of microwaved pizza.

I mean, come on – I can’t even mcirowave right. That has to be beyond pathetic, and I have no idea how my girlfriend puts up with me. But the truth is that I’d rather forego learning how to properly cook a good meal and settle for this garbage. It goes further than that, too. I love fast food. McDonald’s, A&W, Harvey’s, Subway, Quizno’s, Pizza Hut. You name it, I’ll eat it, and I’ll absolutely relish it. This motivates me to learn how to cook even more than that embarrassing photo. Fast food is horrible for you, and I take it in way too often. I’m most likely cutting my life short with every bite of that delicious, greasy, chewy goodne–

–Whoa.

It’s not hard to tell I have a problem. I’m seriously rusty with all things food, from general knowledge to the impacts a diet has on health. I believe I’m fully capable of getting better at this, I just need to actually set my mind to it and do it. With that being said, here’s the game plan:

  1. THE BASICS: Cooking methods, common ingredients, portion sizes, what tastes good, what doesn’t. Trial and error will be strong here.
  2. THE HEALTH FACTOR: Combining general knowledge into a diet plan that will suit me and my taste.
  3. THE LEARNING CURVE: Create a schedule to learn all types of cuisine and then cook them. This will be messy, and sort of expensive, so it will take the longest.
  4. THE CHALLENGE: Serve a diverse 3-5 course meal to a tasting panel of my peers. No cheat sheets, just take what I’ve learned and make (edible) food. This will be the true test to see if I’ve learned anything.
  5. RUSTY NO MORE: Finish this challenge in 3-5 weeks and come out on the other side all the better for it.

And there you have it, my first test to shake some rust off and grow as a person. It’s long overdue, and I’m excited and nervous. I owe it to myself to forge a healthy lifestyle and pave the path to a strong future. From this day forward, I vow to you dear reader (and sweet, loving, great cook of a girlfriend), to make healthy choices and get this done. It will be a battle against laziness and temptation. I may stumble, but I plan on moving ahead.

I’ll be posting along the way. Wish me luck!

And for those of you who’ve read this far, three more amazing facts about me:

  1. I’ve played hockey for close to 15 years.
  2. I’ve been to 18 countries.
  3. I’ve played drums for close to 20 years.

One of those bad boys is a wee lie. My bad! Extra points if you figure it out.

Cheers.

Featured image: a taste of what’s to come – Google

9 thoughts on “I’m a Little Rusty

Share Your Thoughts

