Blogging 201: Make the Most of Your Archives

It’s Sunday, and this post is two days overdue. My apologies. I took a step back from the blogging world for a couple of days to go out and enjoy the weekend. On Friday night I ventured out with my football* team to celebrate the end of our first season together. Let’s just say that I started off by having an innocent Guinness and ended up with a red solo cup filled with what can only be described as an alarming concoction of beer and various spirits. My squad mates and I roared off into the night with cheers, song, and fantastically exaggerated storytelling. If you are of legal drinking age and are familiar with such events, you know what came in the early hours of Saturday morning…

A greasy, balanced breakfast, of course, followed by doing absolutely nothing all day. Hangovers are another thing I’d like to get better at.

Anyhow, day five of Blogging 201 entailed adding new features to my blog in an effort to draw more traffic to the site. I employed a “top posts & pages” widget along with a “categories” widget to try and achieve this. Go check them out, they’re on my menu page (which, if you don’t know where it is, just click on the button in the top right corner of the home page – the one that looks like three horizontal dashes on top one another). I also selected the option to display related posts at the bottom of each entry, but it hasn’t shown up yet. I’m not sure why, so it’s on the list of things to debug! I’m still on the lower end of the learning curve with this platform.

In any case, I’m off to go about my day and dream up new posts to get you readers reading! If I don’t see you, have a good one.

Cheers.

*Football, in this case, means soccer. I dare not call it soccer for fear of insulting everyone outside North America. I’ve also never understood why American Football is so named. I mean, they use their hands 95% of the time. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy a scattered game of it though! A great excuse to get on the chips, dips, and beer to the lips.

Featured image: Enjoying a few casual brews in an epic, ancient, beautifully alive city. – Dublin, Ireland

3 thoughts on “Blogging 201: Make the Most of Your Archives

Share Your Thoughts

