Foto Friday – 18/09/15

Welcome to my new segment, Foto Friday. Every Friday I’ll post a new picture from my personal collection. It may be a photo of a vista abroad or something small, random, and quirky. Who knows? I’ll have some fun with it. Photography is something I’m brand new to, and of course it’s something I want to get better at. Let’s add it to the list, shall we?

The majestic Cliffs of Moher. If you ever visit remember to watch your step. It's quite a long ways down.
The majestic Cliffs of Moher. If you ever visit remember to watch your step. It’s quite a long way down.

Anyhow, the featured image this week (above) is of the stunning Cliffs of Moher, which can be found along the west coast of Ireland just outside County Clare. Take a moment to just look at it. I find it utterly incredible. It’s a sprawling, near-vertical wall of rock that shoots up out of the turquoise, cold (and I mean frigid) Atlantic ocean.

So what? You may be thinking. Well, it’s difficult to gauge just how tall that cliff is, but at their highest point the Cliffs of Moher extend over 200 meters (700 feet) above sea level. That’s pretty high. And trust me, if you ever get the chance to go there, and you’re afraid of heights, you may find the walk along it’s cliff-side trails to be a truly death-defying one. Besides the dizzying height, the sheer force of the wind rising up those cliffs is intense. When I visited there were gusts up to 100 kilometers per hour (60 mph). It was enough to both make me extra cautious during my trek and remind me of home way too much. If you’re having trouble getting a sense of scale, have a look at the multicoloured layers of rock in the cliff face. Those are called strata, and some are many meters in thickness.

On that note, the geology of the formation is pretty cool in itself. The Cliffs of Moher consist of alternating layers of sandstone and siltstone, with different sized grains dispersed in between. The grain sizes represented in each layer of rock serves as a clue about how energetic the depositional environment was when those grains settled on the sea floor. And, by the way, those grains settled around 300 million years ago, or around 70 million years before the first dinosaurs walked the Earth. Pretty neat, huh? I just pushed my glasses up on my nose in the nerdiest way possible. I can’t help it, I love this stuff.

So there you have it. Nothing too intense, just a pretty picture and a few words about it each Friday. I hope you enjoyed it and maybe took something away from it, whether that be some info or the sudden urge to buy a plane ticket and go adventuring!

Also, I know I spelled “photo” wrong. I did it on purpose. If it caused a sudden eye twitch for you grammar nazi’s, I’m truly sorry. I’m one myself, but I think it fits this segment! Don’t hate me.

Time to crack open a fresh, delicious Guinness.

Cheers.

One thought on “Foto Friday – 18/09/15

Share Your Thoughts

